Baynes Sound - Denman/Hornby Islands (Electoral Area A)


Representative: Daniel Arbour

Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands (Electoral Area A) begins at the southern boundary of the City of Courtenay and stretches south to Cook Creek, the most southerly boundary of the Comox Valley Regional District. It includes Minto, Royston, Union Bay and Fanny Bay, as well as both Denman Island and Hornby Island.

A vibrant and eclectic collection of small seaside and island communities combine to comprise this electoral area. Its seafaring history endures in the Royston wrecks, the legendary shellfish farming bounties of Fanny Bay and the historic friendly ports of Union Bay. Denman Island and Hornby Island are populated year-round by local residents and become a hot spot for tourism with their breathtaking beaches and trails, their festivals and their thriving artistic communities. 

Parks & Trails

Upcoming Meetings

Upcoming Meetings

Past Meetings

Past Meetings


Upcoming Events



Projects & Initiatives

Name Type Communities
Equestrian Trail Riding Survey Parks
Nymph Falls Park Accessible Trail and Access Route Parks
Puntledge River Water Main Repair Water Services

Permits and Applications

Permits / Applications

Date Application Received Name Type of Content Documents
Apr 12, 2019 CVRD Planning Applications - January 2019 Planning Application View
Apr 12, 2019 CVRD Planning Applications - February 2019 Planning Application View
Apr 8, 2019 CVRD Building Permits April 2019 Building Permit View
Mar 4, 2019 CVRD Building Permits March 2019 Building Permit View
Feb 4, 2019 CVRD Building Permits February 2019 Building Permit View



No. Bylaw Name Download
1415 Denman Island Community Hall Local Service Establishment Bylaw PDF
103 Electoral Areas Parks Regulations PDF
1971 Fireworks Regulations in Electoral Areas A, B and C Bylaw PDF
102 Noise Control Bylaw PDF
142 Regional District Building Bylaw PDF