About the CVRD

About the Comox Valley Regional District

The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) stretches from the calm waters of the Salish Sea, including Denman and Hornby islands, to the majestic peaks of the Beaufort Mountains and Strathcona Park. Three member municipalities and three electoral areas together form the CVRD – a regional district covering over 1,725 square kilometres (666 square miles). Our region's borders extend from Cook Creek in the south to the Oyster River in the north, west to Strathcona Park, and east to include both Denman and Hornby Islands. We serve a population of 72,445 (2021 Census).

The members of the CVRD work collaboratively to provide services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

Population Statistics

Electoral Areas

Member Municipalities

New Local Government Resource 

BC local governments are supported by many organizations.  Learn about each organization’s mandate and services in the new Excellence in Local Government resource. This guide will aid in the orientation of newly elected officials and new staff.


On February 15, 2008, the Comox Strathcona Regional District (CSRD) was restructured into two separate districts – the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) and the Strathcona Regional District. Regional districts are a unique feature of the British Columbia local government system. The CVRD, as with all regional districts, is a federation of municipalities and rural areas. Regional districts provide a government for unincorporated (rural) areas, a forum for inter-municipal cooperation and an organization upon which provincial mandates can be imposed, such as for regional waste management planning.

The boundaries of the Comox Strathcona Regional Hospital District (CSRHD) and Comox Strathcona Waste Management Service (CSWM) are the same as those two combined regional districts and have the same board of directors as the CVRD and SRD combined.

CVRD Mission Statement

The Comox Valley Regional District is a partnership of three electoral areas and three municipalities providing sustainable services for residents and visitors to the area. The local governments work collaboratively on services for the benefit of those living and visiting the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.