Electoral Areas, Member Municipalities & First Nations

Get Latest Electoral Area News at ConnectCVRD

Want to get the latest updates on the CVRD’s Electoral Areas, and share your input with Directors? Visit www.connectcvrd.ca/electoralareas - the online engagement hub for Electoral Area residents, where you can find the latest newsletters and updates on initiatives, as well as share your comments, questions and ideas.

ConnectCVRD – Electoral Areas

Comox Valley Regional District Boundaries

The Comox Valley Regional District is comprised of three electoral areas and three member municipalities (see map below). 

K’ómoks First Nation Protocol Agreement

On June 14, 2010 the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD), the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox, the Village of Cumberland and the K'ómoks First Nation (K’ómoks) signed a historic protocol agreement that lays out a shared understanding of key interests, and establishes a positive government-to-government relationship in the Comox Valley. 

In 2008, the CVRD Board established a select committee to develop a Comox Valley local government and K’ómoks protocol. Initial principles were identified and a series of reconciliation and recognition workshops were hosted by the K'ómoks First Nation, which elected and non-elected officials from the Comox Valley attended. Since July 2009, staff from K'ómoks First Nation and the Comox Valley local governments met numerous times and developed a shared understanding of key interests and worked through a number of draft documents.

The final protocol agreement captures the agreed-upon issues and interests:

K’ómoks Protocol Agreement

The agreement is meant to serve as a beginning for more productive and detailed conversations regarding the following topics:

  • Culture and heritage protection
  • Environmental protection
  • Intergovernmental coordination: improving communications with a focus on roles, responsibilities and aspirations
  • Joint economic development
  • Land use planning and management: including but not limited to regional growth strategies, official community plans, treaty land issues, resource management plans, provincial planning processes, park management, and other land use plans and regulations
  • Property taxation issues
  • Shared / reciprocal services
  • K'ómoks / local government governance relations
  • Emergency preparedness
  • Consultation and accommodation
  • Other key interests as agreed to by the parties

The protocol agreement has allowed for more detailed discussions regarding matters that are specific to individual parties to begin. The protocol agreement is seen as a high-level commitment to work together and share information amongst the parties. As some of the topics are addressed, action plans to find solutions to the issues will be developed, with input from political representatives, administration and technical experts.

For more information about the protocol and other K’ómoks initiatives please view our partner webpage.

Electoral Area


City of Courtenay

Population: 28420

Town of Comox

Population: 14806

Village of Cumberland

Population: 4447