Board Members & Structure

Board Members 

The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) Board of Directors is comprised of 10 directors representing, respectively, three electoral areas and three member municipalities.

Board Vote Structure

The number of board votes for each municipality or electoral area is determined by population, letters patent and the Local Government Act. For every 1,500 persons or portion thereof, that electoral area is allowed one vote.

When an electoral area has more than one director, the allowable number of votes must be divided amongst its directors as evenly as possible. The results of these calculations can be seen on the following chart.

Voting Strength for Regional Districts – Populations certified by the Minister of Municipal Affairs under section 197 of the Local Government Act, effective November 1, 2022.

For the purposes of the Black Creek / Oyster Bay water and fire services, board membership expands to include the director for Oyster Bay – Buttle Lake (Electoral Area D). For the purposes of the Regional Solid Waste Service, board membership expands to include all Strathcona Regional District directors. Voting strengths in these instances are consistent with the strengths as determined by the Minister of Community and Rural Development as noted above.

Comox Valley Regional District Population 72,445 (2021 Census)

Municipality/Electoral Area Population No. of Directors Voting Strength
Town of Comox 14, 806 2 10
City of Courtenay 28, 420 4 19
Village of Cumberland 4, 447 1 3
Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands (Electoral Area A) 7, 926 1 6
 Lazo North (Electoral Area B) 7, 683 1 6
 Puntledge – Black Creek
(Electoral Area C)
9, 163 1 7