Past Election Results

Local government elections throughout British Columbia are held every four years and are conducted according to the rules and regulations set out in the Local Government Act. The CVRD conducts the elections for Electoral Area Directors for Areas A (Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands), B (Lazo North), and C (Puntledge – Black Creek), as well as for Local Trustees for Islands Trust on Denman and Hornby Islands and School Trustees for School District No. 71 in the above noted electoral areas.

As part of the General Local Election system in British Columbia, elected officials may be elected by acclamation (in the case of a single qualified candidate) or by voting (where there is more than one qualified candidate). Each municipal director on the CVRD Board of Directors is appointed by his or her respective council.