June 2, 2021

As part of the CVRD’s COVID-19 Response and Renewal report, core CVRD services were assessed for changes based on five key principals:

  • Maintaining core services at an affordable cost
  • Sustaining stable services in support of the local economy
  • Adapting to changing community priorities
  • Realigning resources to support community renewal initiatives
  • Communicating clearly about actions

The Response and Renewal report identified restructuring the existing regulatory services within the Electoral Areas, which include Noise Control (Function No. 295), Animal Control (Function No. 291), Unsightly Premises (Function No. 298) and Fireworks (Function No. 299).

These five existing regulatory services are separate functions from one another, and vary in service area. For Electoral Areas A, B and C the CVRD provides services for land use enforcement, unsightly premises, noise control, animal control (Vancouver Island portion only) and fireworks. There are no CVRD services for land use enforcement or animal control on Denman Island or Hornby Island.

Staff are proposing to pursue the following two services:

Restructuring of existing bylaw services to form an Electoral Area A (Baynes Sound portion) B, and C bylaw enforcement service:

  • Expand the purpose of the existing animal control service to include noise control, unsightly and fireworks;
  • Land use administration and zoning service to stay with planning.

Restructuring of existing bylaw services to form a Denman Island and Hornby Island bylaw enforcement service:

  • Expand the purpose of the fireworks service to include noise control and unsightly premises;
  • Amend the boundary to encompass only Denman Island and Hornby Island.

“The financial benefits from combining existing bylaw services include an ease of administration time, as well as accessibility to additional funds when legal action is required,” states CVRD Manager of Bylaw Compliance Amanda Yasinski. “The proposed restructuring would not present any financial impacts to residents.”

To learn more about the proposed bylaw restructuring visit: www.comoxvalleyrd.ca/bylawrestructure

The Comox Valley Regional District is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities providing sustainable services for residents and visitors to the area. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

                                                                                                -  30 –

Media Contact:

Amanda Yasinski, Manager of Bylaw Compliance