CVRD Board Elects Chair and Vice-Chair

On Tuesday, November 15, 2022 the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) held its inaugural board meeting.

The CVRD Board is made up of local elected officials appointed by their respective councils, along with elected CVRD representatives from the three electoral areas. Each November, the CVRD Directors elect the Chair and Vice-Chair positions for the board.

This year the board elected Jesse Ketler as Board Chair and Will Cole-Hamilton as Board Vice-Chair. Chair Ketler is a councillor from the Village of Cumberland and Vice-Chair Cole-Hamilton is a councillor from the City of Courtenay. Both will serve in these positions for the next year.

“The CVRD Board remains committed to addressing the needs of the Comox Valley,” explains new board Chair Ketler. “While there are urgent priorities such as affording housing and climate change, I will strive to balance those priorities with the delivery of the CVRD’s core services that so many residents and community members rely on a daily basis.”

CVRD Board 2022
Front (L-R): Jesse Ketler, Ken Grant, Melanie McCollum, Richard Hardy
Back (L-R): Edwin Grieve, Jonathan Kerr, Daniel Arbour, Doug Hillian, Will Cole-Hamilton, Wendy Morin


For more information on the CVRD Board and to learn about upcoming meetings, visit our Board Members & Structure page.

The Comox Valley Regional District is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities operating on the unceded traditional territory of the K’ómoks First Nation, the traditional keepers of the land. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on providing sustainable services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

Media Contact:

James Warren
Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Comox Valley Regional District