November 7, 2019

On Tuesday, November 5, 2019 the Comox Valley Regional District Board held its inaugural meeting.

The CVRD Board is made up of Municipal Mayors and Councillors appointed from their areas, and elected representatives from the electoral areas. CVRD Directors serve for a four-year term, and the directors elect the Chair and Vice-Chair position each November.

This year the Board elected Jesse Ketler as the Board Chair and re-elected Arzeena Hamir as Vice-Chair. Both will serve in these positions for the next year.

“The board has heard the community's concern around affordability, climate change, and reconciliation with First Nation people and has reflected these in our priorities. As Chair I look forward to contributing to solutions that bring people together, and draw on the many strengths of the Comox Valley," explains CVRD Board Chair Ketler.

For more information about the Comox Valley Regional District visit

The Comox Valley Regional District is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities providing sustainable services for residents and visitors to the area. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

                                                                      -  30 –


Media Contact:

Jennifer Steel
Manager of Corporate Communications