Zoning is a way of regulating land use by assigning parcels of land to categories that include a specific range of permitted uses and densities, as well as lot size and siting regulations.

Zoning bylaws are authorized under section 479 of the Local Government Act (LGA); section 479 does not provide the authority to regulate matters such as nuisance, colour, architectural theme or aesthetics. Zoning bylaws cannot regulate the people who may occupy a building nor the relationship between the occupants.

Zoning Bylaw No. 520 applies to all three electoral areas within the CVRD. The municipalities of Courtenay, Comox and Cumberland have their own zoning bylaws.

Land Use & Zoning Bylaw No. 520

Interactive Zoning Map

Click for Map A-13Click for Map A-12Click for Map A-11Click for Map A-10Click for Map A-9Click for Map A-8Click for Map A-7Click for Map A-6Click for Map A-5Click for Map A-4Click for Map A-3Click forMap #A2