• Current Fire Bans - Campfires, Beach Fires, Category 2 & 3 and High Risk Activities More information
  • Stage 2 Water Restrictions Update - Royston, BCOB, and Comox Valley More information

Open Fire Ban for Province

Effective at noon Pacific Time on Wednesday, June 30, 2021

All open burning activities will be prohibited throughout the province. This prohibition is being enacted to help reduce wildfire risk and protect public safety. This ban includes campfires and beach fires within the entire region as well as smoking within all CVRD parks.

The following activities are also prohibited: the use of sky lanterns, fireworks, burn barrels or burn cages, binary exploding targets, tiki and similar kinds of torches, chimineas, air curtain burners, and outdoor stoves or other portable campfire apparatus without a Canadian Standards Association (CSA) or Underwriter Laboratories of Canada (ULC) rating.

Anyone found in contravention of an open burning prohibition may be issued a violation ticket for $1,150, receive a penalty of up to $10,000 or be fined up to $100,000 and/or sentenced to one year in jail. If the contravention causes or contributes to a wildfire, the person responsible may be ordered to pay all firefighting and associated costs.

Category 2 and Category 3 open fire and to visit BC Wildfire Service Fire Bans and Restrictions page.

Open Fire Regulations Category 2 & Category 3

BC Wildfire Service Fire Bans and Restrictions

Have Questions about the Open Fire Ban?

Identify your service area and your responding fire department contact information on this interactive map.

Throughout the Comox Valley, fire protection services are provided through various responding fire departments. These fire services may be provided directly by the community’s own fire department, or indirectly through a service agreement with a neighbouring municipality. Certain rural areas of the Comox Valley do not have fire protection services.

Fire Services Administration

The local governments within the greater Comox Valley work cooperatively to provide efficient and responsive fire protection to residents and visitors. Learn more about Fire Services Administration

Burning Regulations - Please Follow Link to Read About the Current Fire Ban

Burning regulations may be different depending on your location. In areas that have a fire regulation bylaw, the Fire Chief manages restrictions on burning based on the current local conditions and the resources that are available to fight fire.

In areas that do not have a fire regulation bylaw, the Provincial regulations apply and are managed by the Province.

For more information on current burning restrictions in your area please contact your responding fire department. To identify your responding fire department and their contact information, please visit this interactive map.

Firefighter Recruitment

Visit our volunteer firefighter recruitment page.