

File: 0540-20

Terms of Reference Comox Valley Sewage Commission

Mission: Established by Bylaw No. 650 (adopted in 1982) and comprised of councillors from the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox and a representative from Canadian Forces Base Comox, this commission considers matters relating to the administration and operation of the sewage system service located in Courtenay and Comox.

Authority: The sewage commission has the authority to:

- a) determine the budget for operations at the Comox Valley water pollution control centre;
- b) determine rates to be charged for handling septic tank effluent in conjunction with the Comox Valley water pollution control centre;
- c) determine rates to be charged for any compost material produced by the Comox Valley water pollution control centre;
- d) select and procure operating and maintenance equipment used in conjunction with Comox Valley water pollution control centre; and
- e) administer the regulations bylaws of the Comox Valley water pollution control centre.

Mandate: The Comox Valley sewage commission will undertake those powers within its authority and provide advice to the board on matters pertaining to the administration and operation of the sewage system located in Courtenay and Comox. The commission will provide advice and recommendations to the board where the commission cannot undertake the required actions, for example in adopting bylaws or entering contracts.

Membership: The Comox Valley sewage commission is comprised of the following members:

- Director Barbara Price (Town of Comox)
- Director Erik Eriksson (City of Courtenay)
- Director Ken Grant (Town of Comox)
- Director Maureen Swift (Town of Comox)
- Director Manno Theos (City of Courtenay)
- Director Bob Wells (City of Courtenay)
- Major Marc Fugulin (CFB Comox)

Commission chair: The commission shall elect a chair and vice-chair from amongst its members at the first meeting of each year.

Resources: The CAO will determine and assign a staff member as an advisor to the commission. A recording secretary may also be appointed. The committee will also be accorded a budget to cover meeting expenses, meals/coffee, photocopying and other related activities.

Tenure: This commission is established by bylaw and as such will be deemed to be continuous. Membership will be subject to local government elections each four years or at the pleasure of council appointments.

Reporting: The Comox Valley sewage commission will provide its minutes to the corporate legislative officer within 48 hours of any commission meeting. Where the board feels it is necessary, the commission may be asked to meet with the board and brief the board on any issue(s) within its purview. This invitation shall be extended to the chair of the commission as the representative of the commission.

Contact with the Media: Any contact with the media regarding issues related to the work of this commission shall be handled by the commission chair or shall be referred by the chair of the commission to the CVRD chair of the board. If the matter under questioning by the media deals with CVRD board policy around issues related to the work of this commission, the matter shall be referred to the chair of the board. The chief administrative officer and general manager of corporate services will provide assistance and / or guidance to the chair of the board and commission chair in responding to the media.