• Black Creek - Oyster Bay Water System - Stage 3 Water Restrictions More information
August 3, 2022

As a result of a campfire ban enacted by BC Wildfire Service, the Comox Valley Regional District and its surrounding partner agencies will be issuing the same campfire ban, effective at 12:00pm PST on Thursday, August 4th, 2022.

Campfires will be prohibited throughout the Coastal Fire Centre’s jurisdiction, including all provincial parks, crown land, and private property. This prohibition is being issued to help reduce wildfire risk and protect public safety.

The following area fire departments are involved in the campfire ban:
•    Comox Fire Rescue
•    Courtenay Fire Department
•    Cumberland Fire Rescue
•    Denman Island Fire Rescue
•    Fanny Bay Volunteer Fire Department
•    Hornby Island Fire Rescue
•    Oyster River Fire Rescue
•    Ships Point Volunteer Fire Department
•    Union Bay Fire Rescue

The campfire prohibition does not apply to cooking stoves that use gas, propane or briquettes, or portable campfire devices that use briquettes, liquid, or gaseous fuel, provided they are CSA or ULC approved, and the height of the flame is less than 15 centimetres.

To further reduce wildfire risk in the Comox Valley, a smoking ban has been issued in all CVRD parks. For a complete list of our parks, visit the Parks, Trails & Beach Access page.

For more information:

For more information on the campfire prohibition issued by the Coastal Fire Centre, view their full news release.

The Comox Valley Regional District is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities operating on the unceded traditional territory of the K’ómoks First Nation, the traditional keepers of the land. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on providing sustainable services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

Media Contact:

Bruce Green, Oyster River Fire Chief