CVRD board re-elects chair and elects new vice-chair

The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) board of directors has re-elected Director Jolliffe as their chair and Director Wells has been elected as vice-chair for 2017. The CVRD board is made up of municipal council members who are elected from their respective councils and elected representatives from the region’s electoral areas. Each year the CVRD board elects its chair and vice-chair positions.

The chair, along with the other nine directors, oversee the activities and services that the regional district delivers to its nearly 64,000 residents. Jolliffe represents Baynes Sound-Denman/Hornby Islands (Electoral Area A) as the director, and Wells is a councillor from the City of Courtenay.

“I am honoured to accept the role of board chair for my third term,” explains CVRD Electoral Area A Director Jolliffe, “As the chair of this board I will continue to help deliver results and respect the views of each member throughout the process.”

The Comox Valley Regional District is a federation of three electoral areas and three municipalities providing sustainable services for residents and visitors to the area. The members of the regional district work collaboratively on services for the benefit of the diverse urban and rural areas of the Comox Valley.

-  30 –

Media Contact:
Jennifer Steel, Manager of Corporate Communications
Comox Valley Regional District
Tel: 250-334-6063