Settlement Expansion Areas

Minimum lot area requirements for subdivisions in the settlement expansion areas (SEAs)

The Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) was created in February 2008, and encompasses the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox and the Village of Cumberland, along with the electoral areas of Baynes Sound (A), Lazo North (B) and Puntledge-Black Creek (C). When the provincial government created the CVRD, it mandated the regional district to prepare a regional growth strategy (RGS) in order to guide growth in the Comox Valley. After over two years of research and public consultation, the RGS was adopted by the CVRD board in March 2011. The RGS contains policies to direct growth while preserving the region's quality of life. One of these policies is to set a four-hectare minimum lot area for new lots created through subdivisions in the settlement expansion areas (SEAs). (For reference, four hectares is approximately 9.8 acres.)

On February 26, 2013, the regional district board adopted amendments to the OCP and zoning bylaw to establish a minimum lot area of four hectares for all properties within the SEAs. All subdivision applications for lots in the SEAs submitted to the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure (MoTI) will be affected by these amendments after February 26, 2013. Note that subdivision applications that were accepted by the MoTI before February 26, 2013, will not be affected by these amendments for 12 months. Please note that these bylaw changes only affect subdivision of existing lots in the SEAs. They do not affect existing permitted uses, minimum lot line setbacks, maximum building heights, or any other zoning bylaw regulation or OCP policy.

This webpage contains bylaw amendments, staff reports, meeting minutes, frequently asked questions (FAQs), a SEAs map and more.

For more information please contact