Advisory Planning Commissions

In each of the three electoral areas in the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) for which planning and land use management is conducted, the electoral area director may opt to establish an advisory planning commission (APC) and then appoint members of the public to that APC. In addition, the board may establish an APC for more than one electoral area.

The CVRD currently has APCs in Baynes Sound (Area A), Lazo North (Area B), Puntledge/Black Creek (Area C), as well as the region-wide Agricultural APC.

An advisory planning commission is established to provide input and advice about planning and land use management applications that occur within its electoral area. The following guide has been developed to assist the APCs in providing the best possible support to electoral area directors and the CVRD board.

Advisory Planning Commission Schedule of Meetings